Colonial administration in Uganda

Colonial administration in Uganda

  • Colonial administration in Uganda, Uganda was declared a British protectorate in 1894 by Lord Roseberry (British foreign secretary
  • for colonies by then).
  • When Uganda was made a British protectorate. Henry Colville was made the first British
  • commissioner.
  • The second British commissioner was sir Harry Johnstone.
  • In 1905, the title of commissioner was changed to governor.
  • The first British governor in Uganda was sir Hesketh Bell.
  • All the British governors were based in Entebbe which was the colonial capital of Uganda at that time.
  • The executive council and Legco were also located at Entebbe.

The Legislative council

  • It was formed in 1921 by sir Robert Coryndon. Its major role was to make laws.
  • In 1945, the first Ugandans joined Legco.
  • They included;
  • Kawalya Kaggwa – from central region — Buganda
  • Yekonia Zirabamuzaale – from East – Busoga
  • Petero Nyangabyaki Akiiki – from west -Bunyoro

The Buganda agreement of 1900

It was signed by Sir Harry Johnston on behalf of the British and sir Apollo Kaggwa on behalf of
the Buganda kingdom.

Terms of the 1900 Buganda Agreement.


Provisions/ recommendations of the Buganda agreement

  • Hut and gun taxes were to be introduced – economic
  • Buganda land was to be divided into crown and mailo land
  • Kabaka’s powers were to be reduced – political
  • Buganda’s boundaries were to be fixed — political.

Results of the Buganda agreement

Kabaka’s powers reduced and the Lukiiko’s powers were increased.
Hut and gun taxes were introduced.
Land in Buganda was divided into crown: and mailo land.
Buganda’s boundaries were fixed.

Note. The Kabaka (Daudi Chwa II was not able to sign this agreement on behalf of his kingdom
because he was an infant.
Instead, he was assisted by his regents to run the kingdom.
Regents are people who rule a kingdom on behalf of a young king.