These are plants that bear flowers. A typical flowering plant is composed of 2 systems:

  1. Root system
  2. Shoot system

The two systems are made up of two categories of organs i.e.

Reproductive organs: these produce fruits and seeds. They are directly involved in the reproduction of the plant.

Vegetative organs:these are not directly involved in the reproduction. They include roots, stems and leaves

Structure of a flowering plant

flowering plant


A root is a descending portion of the axis of the plant and develops from the radical of the embryo during germination


There are 3 main kinds of roots;

1.Primary roots

These are the first roots to grow out of a seed as an extension of the radicle.

2.Secondary roots

These grow laterally from the primary roots

3.Adventitious roots

These are roots that grow from the stems or leaves and not as branches from either primary or secondary roots. They are almost of the same size.


1.Tap root system

This consists of a main root growing straight down wards from the radicle. It gives rise to side roots called lateral roots. Tap root system is a characteristic of dicotyledonous plants.

tap root

2.Fibrous root system

This is the root system without a main root and all roots arise from the same point of the base of the stem. The roots are almost of the same size and a characteristic of monocotyledonous plants.