Primates (most advanced mammals)

 Primates are the most advanced subclass of mammals.

 They have a well developed set of teeth (32)  Primates have an advanced brain.

Characteristics of primates.

 They have five fingers and five toes on each foot.

 They use their front limbs for holding things while hind limbs for walking.

 All primates are omnivores feed on both flesh and vegetables)

Examples of primates includes;

People, gorillas, chimpanzee, baboon, bush baby, monkey, apes, gibbon Drawn structures showing a bush baby, a monkey and a gorilla.


A bush baby                       A gorilla                      A monkey         

Egg – laying mammals (monotremes)

 These are mammals which reproduce by means of laying eggs.

 They are also called mammals because they feed their young ones on milk from mammary glands.

Examples of monotremes include;

There are only two examples of monotremes namely; duck billed platypus and spiny ant eater (echidna)

Illustrations showing monotremes

spiny ant

      Duck billed platypus                                             Spiny anteater

Learners’ Activity     

  1. What is meant by the term monotremes?
  2. Give any two examples of monotremes 
  3. State any two reasons why primates differ from other mammals 
  4. Explain why monotremes are grouped under mammals 
  5. In which way is duck billed platypus similar to a spiny ant eater?